I think this is the real day 355. So sorry about my numbering!

.:355/365: On Making Friends In The Industry:.

As the cliché goes, “no man is an island.” That goes the same for magicians, much as we’d love to be lone wolves who don’t answer to anyone. At some point, we’d want to deal with another practitioner of magic, rather than continue ingratiating ourselves to laymen who would only appreciate maybe the first three times you do magic for them before either their expectations of you as a magician go insurmountably up or they just find you annoying already.


It’s actually a good idea to be around like-minded people every now and then, even if in my case, one of the most-repeated pieces of advice my mentor has given to me about magicians is to always watch my back. Sure, granted that people aren’t perfect, but in the end, there’s no reason to be antagonistic of people who could and would help you grow as a performer.

I think that aside from all the videos I’ve watched and books I’ve read, the most growth I’ve had as a performer behind the scenes has been brainstorming and sitting down with fellow magicians who give me their ideas and comments. The people from TSC, particularly the members of Team Ruthless have been amazing people because they can critique both your technical level and even how entertaining the routine is, overall. I doubt I could’ve done my annual shows without bouncing ideas off these people, to say the least.

Having said all that, magicians tend to be a very secluded group of people, so once you enter the fold, it shouldn’t be too difficult to find kindred spirits in the industry. In fact, it’s harder not to find kindred spirits, all things considered.

